So glad you could stop by

Hello! Welcome to Geeky Tea Time! As you can probably guess, I love tea, baking, and have strong geeky tendencies. With a full-time job, no-so-fun commute, and the general hustle and bustle of busy life, I wanted to take some time to slow down and really focus on the things I like and care about. This blog will hopefully be a place where I can wind down with a cup of tea and geek out. If you’d like to come along, there’s a space at the table and plenty of scones to go around.

tea-time_1573281

Now, why tea? In a coffee-driven world, tea may be seen as the drink of choice for grandmothers and hipsters. While I don’t think I fall into either category (though I don’t like the neighborhood children and I went to a small liberal arts college, so I’ll let you make your own call), my love of tea began when I was a kid. I think as far back as age 5, I would have Lipton tea with milk and sugar every day for breakfast. To this day, I think one of the best breakfasts is tea with milk and sugar with buttered toast; simple, but delicious. As I got older, I expanded my palette with green teas, iced teas, loose leaf, fancy cafe concoctions, all delicious, all unique in their own ways. For me, tea is soothing, comforting, and best enjoyed curled up in a chair with a good book and cozy blanket. I don’t think I could be a sane person without it.

Now the geekery. That’s just an ingrained part of my being that I can’t escape, but fully embrace because geeks really are the best kind of people. There was a point where I tried to stamp it out, but the speech and debate team (president my senior year, thank you very much), drama club, my AP classes, and middle-of-nowhere college with an annual Harry Potter day (!!!!) saw the truth and ran full force with it. I can’t say I’m upset about it. As geek hero William Shakespeare famously said: “to thine own self be true”.

Now, for you fellow geeks/nerds/zesty people who would care to join me, tea will be served promptly at 2.

Leave a Reply

